Life Decisions & Late Night Conversations

One of the best things in life are late night conversations. Sitting at midnight and talking to someone about life and the decisions we make in it. Are we living the stereotypical life we were taught to live, because we’re afraid of standing up and doing something different than our families did? Are we going to high school and college, because it’s needed or because it’s what we were taught to do? Don’t take it the wrong way, I believe education is very important and that it gives us better chances for good jobs one day. But maybe some of us don’t want to be a doctor or a lawyer. Maybe some of us don’t want to go to college to pursue something that we’re not passionate about. But even some of us aren’t sure what we want to do with our lives. Some of us want to be musicians one day, professional athletes, magicians even. These things can be taught at universities, yet people don’t believe we can get a job out of it. Yes, there is a small chance we actually can get a job doing this, but still we get to do it.

I had a conversation with my cousin last night and we were talking about what our plans are later in life. He told me that ,after high school, he wants to go to college and study science to one day work in a laboratory. I told him that in two years I would love to move to the US or England to study music and arts (when I’m 18). And we talked about how we need to have a plan B if we don’t get to do what we are actually passionate about. As much as we hate admitting it, we kind of need to have that “Plan B”.

We also talked about insecurities and changes that we go through in life. We talked about friends and how they slowly drift away from our lives without us even wanting that. We had so many conversations and topics in only an hour. Talking that much made me scared for what life will bring. I’m still so young, yet I feel like I’m missing out on so much that your typical 15/16-year-old should be experiencing. I don’t know who is still going to be by my side in ten years. Maybe I’m a whole different person in ten years. I don’t know what I’ll be doing, but hopefully in ten years I’m doing good and not making regretful decisions.

But if there’s anything I can tell you, then it’s to tell you that you don’t have to be afraid to do something you’re passionate about and to not give up on it. You can never know what life can bring for you and maybe it can take some time and hard work to get to where you want to. If you’re willing to work hard and make mistakes to pursue your passion, then I will forever respect you for that.

Make your own life, don’t let others do that for you. As cliché as this sounds, you are your own version and there’s no one that can ever change that. Life may be short, but it’s never too late to do what you want.

‘Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?’
‘That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,’ said the Cat.
‘I don’t much care where-‘ said Alice.
‘Then it doesn’t matter which way you go’ said the Cat.
‘-so long as I get SOMEWHERE,’ Alice added as an explanation.
‘Oh, you’re sure to do that,’ said the Cat, ‘if you only walk long enough.’

– Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland (Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland #1)

Yours Sincerely,
Clouds x

follow my tumblr(warning: It’s still new): acloudslifephotography.tumblr.com
stalk my instagram(only if you want): instagram.com/acloudslife

Leave a comment